Killing Eve / Bodyguard – New BBC Thrillers

With this blog post I want to try and write in a different, more structured format so that the result will be shorter but still very informative and interesting. Today I want to write about two drama series set in London which aired last month on BBC and caught my attention. I have rarely seen such short series with such good performances.

Killing Eve

Killing Eve is a female lead psychological thriller. The two protagonists are a woman serial killer and a woman security services detective; during the 8 episodes they find out about each other and start a war which is also an attempt at interacting with each other. They are curious and fascinated with each other, but they are playing a dangerous game. Sandra Oh, who I know from Grey’s Anatomy, plays the brilliant detective.

You will like it if you liked: The Killing (USA series), Stranger Things, The Kind Worth Killing (book).

My favourite thing about it: The character of Villanelle, the serial killer, was my personal favourite as she is interesting, witty and a scary psychopath at the same time.

My least favourite thing about it: Nothing to say here. It was really great.

Bodyguard 

Bodyguard is a political thriller, a genre that is very different from what I usually like. It deals with terrorism, corruption and political power play. I don’t think I would have ever watched it if it wasn’t recommended to me, but I’m glad I did. The tension is high throughout the entire season and even though the last episode is the most intense, the season is wrapped up too quicklyprobably to leave some loose ends to carry on with in another season? Maybe I’m too soft but during that last episode I was so stressed that I had to look away at some points. Just hope this translates into most people finding it gripping and captivating.

You will like it if you liked: Black Mirror, House of Cards.

My favourite thing about it: Richard Madden’s (known from Game of Thrones) performance of police officer David Budd. It’s incredible, real and raw in each single episode. 

My least favourite thing about it: The violence. But I do think it’s needed to convey this story in the best way.

I hope you like them both too!

Linda Arrighi

Featured Image: by me, find it on my Instagram account.

 

 

One thought on “Killing Eve / Bodyguard – New BBC Thrillers

Leave a comment